Cart 0

Vintage 8-Track Great Scenes From Gershwin's Porgy And Bess

  • $ 4.99

Product Information:

Porgy and Bess is an English-language opera composed in 1934 by George Gershwin, with a libretto written by DuBose Heyward and Ira Gershwin from Heyward's novel Porgy and later play of the same title. Porgy and Bess was first performed in New York City on September 30, 1935 and featured an entire cast of classically trained African-American singers—a daring artistic choice at the time. After an initially unpopular public reception, the Houston Grand Opera production of the opera gained popularity, eventually becoming one of the best-known and most frequently performed operas.

8-Track Great Scenes From Gershwin's Porgy And Bess

Some of the songs on the 8-track include:

  • Overture 
  • Summertime 
  • Woman Is A Sometime Thing 
  • Wake- Gone, Gone, Gone- Porgy's Prayer 
  • My Man's Gone Now 
  • I Got Plenty O' Nuttin' 
  • Bess, You Is My Woman Now 
  • Morning; Catfish Row 
  • I Can't Sit Down 
  • It Ain't Necessarily So 
  • I Ain't Got No Shame 
  • What Do You Want With Bess
  • Street Cries; Strawberry Woman; Crab Man 
  • I Loves You, Porgy 
  • Red-Headed Woman
  • Clara, Clara 
  • There's A Boat That's Leavin' Soon For New York 
  • Oh, Where's My Bess
  • I'm On My Way


8-Track in really good condition. Tape is in tact and there are no breaks or cracks on the cartridge. Label is still affixed. The tape comes in a cardboard holder to protect the cartridge. The cardboard cover is very worn and I am just adding it because it came with the tape.

Special Notes:

  • Please see the photos for additional condition information.



We Also Recommend



Sold Out